A Story A Day – in May

This is an unscheduled announcement. How official!

Due to my ignorance of a forthcoming event, you are now bombarded with posts, and will be for the next month. What is it that is happening? I hear you ask. It is a phenomenon known as Story A Day.

Quite simply, the aim is to write a story a day in May. There is a September one too, but as it is May, I will be doing that one. It is a bit like NaNoWriMo, only without the word count and you have to complete a story, beginning to end, per day. So not being one to shy away from a challenge, I have signed up.

What will I write about? I don’t know. They have daily prompts, I may use the newspapers, or develop sub-plots of existing stories. I cannot promise it will be all crime. I cannot promise it will be all good. What I can promise is that every day in May, there will be a first draft of a story on this blog. View it a bit like the auditions for the X Factor. Some of it will make you cringe and wonder why I could think I could write. And hopefully there will be some gems, where you think I have real talent, and you are glad I had the courage to get up and write. And then there will be the in between, where the talent shines through but needs someone else to nurture it.

I hope you will enjoy this month long journey. And if you want to join in, you can sign up here.

See you in May!

Leave a Reply

