Productivity App

Are you like me, finding yourself on Facebook much longer than what you should? I could spend all day on it! I am not a pleasant person to be around if I do. I get especially grumpy if I notice I have wasted a morning on the Social Media site and not done any writing. For some of you, your guilty pleasures could include Twitter and Instagram. Don’t be shy, raise your hand!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I use Mozilla Firefox as my browser, and I know that you can get similar things on different browsers. At this moment in time I only know about the Firefox one, but have a Google and find one for your browser. The thing I am talking about is LeechBlock.

LeechBlock is a Mozilla Firefox browser plug-in, and you can tell it which sites to block and when. For me, I have blocked Facebook from 9-5 Monday to Friday, amongst others. You can also set the site that you get sent to if you even think about trying your blocked site. I use the default, but you can specify a URL. And the icing on the cake – and I know I would unblock the sites if it wasn’t for this – you can set it so that you cannot change the blocking of those sites during the times they are blocked.

So for me, I could not go to the LeechBlock plug-in and say I want to block Facebook between 10 and 2 if I try to do it between 9-5.

 

And it has helped. I am writing more. But I am also a better mother and housewife too, as I have a little less distraction during the main parts of the day.

Will you be using it?

Leave a Reply

